June 29, 2014

Review: On the Fence

18298225
On the Fence by Kasie West
Grade: A+
Release date: July 1, 2014
This e-galley was provided by HarperTeen and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
Summary: She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door…

Charlie Reynolds can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn't know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world. To cope with the stress of her new reality, Charlie takes to spending nights chatting with her neighbor Braden through the fence between their yards. As she grows to depend on their nightly Fence Chats, she realizes she's got a bigger problem than speeding tickets-she's falling for Braden. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly: This is a first.  I don't know how to review a book.  On the Fence is just so squee-worthy, adorable, and amazing that I just don't know what to say.  Kasie West has continued to impress me, and I have confidence anything else she writes won't let me down.  On the Fence is better than The Distance Between Us.  Caymen and Xander's banter is the best, but Charlie (short for Charlotte) and Braden are adorable and so sweet.  I love good guys in romances, and Braden is the best.  He's already Charlie's friend, and he looks out for her and really knows who she is.  Their fence chats are the best.  I love how Charlie discovered who she is - not a tomboy, but not super girly either.  She's probably always going to prefer jeans to skirts and dresses, but I didn't feel like she minded looking a bit girlier after she got her job at the boutique.  My only complaint is how long it took Braden and Charlie to get together because I was screaming at them to kiss throughout the whole book.
Another bonus is that Kasie's books are always very clean - both in language and romance.

The Verdict: LOVED IT. YOU MUST READ IT. THE END.
(But if you need more to convince you, On the Fence is great for fans of Jennifer E. Smith's books, Elizabeth Eulberg's books, and Going Vintage.)


Buy (AND YOU SHOULD): Barnes & Noble  Read Between the Lynes

3 comments:

  1. So is that cover accurate, with the superlong hair and the sundress?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The hair, I don't remember. The dress, possibly.

      Delete
  2. Yay! I'm very glad to hear that On the Fence is squeal-worthy!! I'm not sure I can believe that it's better than The Distance Between Us, but Kasie West is amazing so anything is possible!

    I can't wait until tomorrow! I NEED On the Fence!

    ReplyDelete