January 2, 2016

Rewind to 2015: Best Debut Authors

Yup, I'm not ready to let go of 2015 yet. So, just like my Rewind to 2014 series, this is going to be all about the previous year. Get ready for a whole week of Rewind to 2015. First up, all the amazing debut authors.


#1. The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
17134589 Maggie  Hall
When someone can write a book that reminds me of 39 Clues, they're pretty awesome. The Conspiracy of Us is also perfect for fans of Ally Carter.


#2. The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
22504702 Jenn Marie Thorne
One of my Fifteen 2015 Reads that was as actually as good as I hoped. It doesn't hurt at all that Jenn is super nice, and I got to interview her back in March.


#3. Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout
18484807 
I loved exploring South Korea's culture alongside Grace, and her character growth is great. She's still flawed at the end, but I could definitely see her growing and changing.


#4. Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed
22521951 Aisha Saeed
What a moving book. If you haven't read this one yet, you need to get on that stat.


#5. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
18798983 Renee Ahdieh
I didn't really review Renee's debut, but my Goodreads review has a gif of Taylor Swift saying "R.I.P. me," so that basically sums up my feelings. The Wrath and the Dawn was also one of the few books I gave 5 stars this year.


#6. This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee
24336401 Mackenzi Lee
While I didn't love This Monstrous Thing, I did like it, and I can't wait to see what Mackenzi writes next (especially because she's been hinting at some awesome historical fiction stuff). I adore her and her awesome notes that she sends with swag and her fantastic launch party dresses.


#7. The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore
20734002 
*strokes book* Pretty cover is pretty. But it's also so much more than that. I loved the prose in The Weight of Feathers, and I really can't wait to read whatever Anna-Marie writes next.


#8. Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
19547856 Becky Albertalli
ALL THE OREOS AND SWOONS AND WELL-WRITTEN MALE POVS.
Ahem.
Y'all don't know how much I don't enjoy books from guys' POVs. I've tried, I swear. I like Percy Jackson a lot, and I'll take dual narration with a guy and a girl, but I don't usually like books like Simon. But anyways, bloggers and authors alike were swooning over this one, and I gave it a try, and I regret nothing.


#9. Anything Could Happen by Will Walton
23399267
Will you look at that - another book with a male protagonist. 2015 is the year I branched out a bit, and I don't regret it one bit. Also, how could I resist a book with so much Taylor Swift love?

So...what about y'all? What debut authors of 2015 did you love?

3 comments:

  1. Sadly, I still need to read all of these lol. I've got to read the wrath and the dawn soon though. I've heard so many good things about it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Simon and Will Walton! Oh my! Yes!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I think it's time I pick up Simon. Everybody seems to love it. I haven't read any of the other books you mentioned here but I'll definitely check some of them out :)

    ReplyDelete