August 9, 2016

Top Ten Tuesday: Rewind Week


I love freebie/rewind weeks! I didn't start doing Top Ten Tuesday until 2013, so there are quite a few topics I never did or would love to do again. For this post, I chose YA books adults should read! I know there are a lot of adults who read YA, because that's most of the book blogger community I'm a part of, but there are also parents and other adults who should give YA a try - as long as they remember the genre isn't for them. It's for teens who need to find a safe place where they can learn and grow and be themselves.

24376529
1. A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis
Historical fiction/mystery/thriller. Set in an insane asylum, but it's not as creepy as it sounds, I promise. (I don't do super creepy books, so I wouldn't be recommending this one if it was the type to keep you awake at night.)

22504702
2. The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
Contemporary politics.

17668473
3. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman
Historical fiction set before World War II with a bit of a mystery and high stakes.

13518112
4. Cinders & Sapphires by Leila Rasheed
Historical fiction perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.

15283043
5. The Distance Between Us by Kasie West
Cute, snarky contemporary romance. ALL THE BANTER.

25663744
6. The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord
Friendship, personal growth and recovery, and one of my favorite YA romances of all time.

23110163
7. Fallout by Gwenda Bond
For all of you superhero fans. Teenage Lois Lane is one of my favorite things, and I kind of feel like this duology needs to be a TV show.

11235712
8. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
The type of sci-fi I enjoy, since it's interwoven with fairytale retellings. Plus, it's no more sci-fi than The Avengers.

25734156
9. Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
Historical fiction that's perfect for all those adults who played The Oregon Trail as kids/teens.

21469136
10. The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski
Low fantasy, so if magic and fae aren't your thing, than this is a great trilogy for you. It's heavily inspired by Ancient Rome and Greece.

23399232
Bonus pick: The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough
There's a lot of YA/adult crossover appeal with this one. It's written in such a literary manner that, if I were a teacher or professor, I wouldn't hesitate to teach it.


What did you do for TTT this week? Leave the link to your post in the comments below, and I'll try to check it out! :)

8 comments:

  1. I've been saying I'm going to read Cinder forever, but I still haven't gotten around to it.

    Here's my Top Ten! I take on a subgenre: Armchair Foodie Travel Books.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the cover of The Game of Love and Death.
    My TTT.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I totally think all adults should give YA a try. Some people are just too stubborn though.... but those people are missing out!! There's so much awesome in YA. I still need to read A Madness So Discreet, and I love Cinder and Lois Lane Fallout!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've recently added prisoner of night and fog to my TBR. But I've never seen anyone mention it before. It's good to know you rate it so highly. I keep meaning to add the winners curse to my TBR too but I never seem to get around to it.

    You can see my TTT on my blog at : everthecrafter.wordpress.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. I desperately want to read Fallout.
    And I loved Cinder. Definitely a book I recommend to everyone :D

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great picks!
    I really need to read Kasie West - her books look super good

    ReplyDelete
  7. Love a few of the books you listed! (The Distance Between Us, cinder, Lois Lane, and The Start of Me and You!) I need to read a few of the others on your list! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yes, Cinder and A Madness So Discreet are great picks!

    Check out my TTT.

    ReplyDelete